Desert in Mali

There is vast space, like the desert in Mali
and the sunrise at sea,
in my heart

& like every grain of sand and ray of light,
each person
I share a moment with

knows the possibilities of love’s ventures.

All the land could be ours to build our dreams
to cultivate our desires, to bear our fruit

Or the ocean could swallow us, we could drift away
and there would be an island, amidst which no one would
find us

Like an undetected stillness in the wind, I wait
for you to choose your destiny

 

I know my heart may be left bare, wild and forgotten
and I hope the jungle will claim it back
one day.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

